Think Tank Awards 2018: the full shortlist

The shortlist in each 2018 category—plus our judges revealed

July 02, 2018
article header image

Prospect magazine is proud to announce the shortlist for the 2018 Think Tank Awards. Founded in 2001, the awards are an annual recognition of the important and inuential work carried out by Think Tanks across the globe.

The awards are judged by an independent, cross-party panel chaired by the Editor, Tom Clark. The judges look for evidence of inuence on public policy and on the public discourse and consider the quality of research—and the potential of younger and smaller organisations.

The awards will be given at an event in London on July 17. The shortlist by category, and a full list of judges, are below.

This year's shortlist

Economic and Financial

North America

Economic Innovation Group

Peterson Institute for International Economics

Manhattan Institute


Transparency International

European Policy Centre (EPC)



Institute for Fiscal Studies

Institute for Government



Libertad y Progreso

United Nations University World Institute for Development Economics

African Center for Economic Transformation

Social Policy

North America

New America

MacDonald Laurier Institute

RAND Corporation


Katalys Institute

Transparency International

European Centre for International Political Economy (ECIPE)


Joseph Rowntree Foundation

Institute for Government

Fabian Society


Observer Research Foundation

Afghanistan Research and Evaluation Unit

Carnegie Middle East Centre

Energy and Environment

North America

Stimson Center

Global Carbon Project

Centre for Climate and Energy Solutions


Centre for European Policy Studies

Fridtjof Nansen Institute

Institute for European Environmental Policy


Policy Exchange

Bright Blue

Chatham House


Beyond Zero Emissions Inc

Afghanistan Research and Evaluation Unit

Council on Energy, Environment and Water

Global Affairs

North America

Carnie Endowment for International Peace

New America

RAND Corporation


Carnegie Europe

Centre for European Policy Studies

Casimir Pulaski Foundation


Policy Exchange

UK in a Changing Europe

Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies


Observer Research Foundation

Igarapé Institute

Carnegie-Tsinghua Center for Global Policy

The 2018 judges

Duncan Weldon | Head of Research | Resolution Group

Dr Werner Hoyer | President | European Investment Bank

Vicky Pryce | Former Joint Head of the United Kingdom's Government Economic Service

Malcolm Grimston | Senior Research Fellow | Imperial College London

Professor Claudia Kemfert | Professor of Energy Economics and Sustainability | Hertie School of Governance

Baroness Margaret Jones of Whitchurch | Shadow Spokesperson on Environment, Food and Rural Affairs in the House of Lords

Stephanie Flanders | Former BBC Newsnight Economics Editor

Alberto Alemanno | Jean Monnet Professor of European Union Law and Regulation | HEC Paris

Tony Barber | Europe Editor | Financial Times

Dr Emil Brix | Director | Diplomatic Academy in Vienna

Angela Knight | Chair | Office of Tax Simplification

Dame Frances Cairncross | Chair of Court | Heriot Watt University

Caroline Lucas | Member of Parliament for Brighton Pavilion

Graham Bishop | Consultant on European Integration

Clare Short | Former Secretary of State for International Development

Sir Stuart Etherington | CEO | NCVO

Philippe Legrain | Senior Visiting Fellow | London School of Economics’ European Institute

Pascal Lamy | Former Director-General | WTO

Professor Nick Eyre | Professor of Energy and Climate Policy | University of Oxford

Javier Solana | Former Secretary-General | NATO

Lord Admiral Alan West | Former Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State | British Home Office

Professor Nicola Yeates | Professor of Social Policy | Open University

Professor Patricia Kennett | Professor of Comparative and International Policy Studies | University of Bristol

Andrew Stuttaford | Contributing Editor | National Review

David Blanchflower | Economics Professor | Dartmouth College

Fiona Harvey | Environmental Correspondent | The Guardian

Dan Balz | Chief Correspondent | Washington Post

Martin Kettle | Chief Political Leader Writer | The Guardian

Sir Nigel Ingewald | Former UK Ambassador to the European Union

Diane Roberts | Writer and Broadcaster



To find out more about how you can become involved in Prospect’s thought leadership work or to discuss working together , please contact saskia.abdoh@prospect-magazine.co.uk.