Latest Issue

How long until another woman wins the top economics prize?

Not nearly enough women are entering the economics profession, owing to biases all the way through the system

By Vicky Pryce  

Elinor Ostrom is the only women to have won the Economics Nobel. Photo: Rainer Jensen/DPA/PA Images

Donna Strickland, an academic at the University of Waterloo in Canada, shared the recently-awarded Nobel Prize in physics. That brings the number of women awarded the physics prize since it started—Marie Curie was the first—to three. Much to celebrate there, even if progress is too slow. But only one woman, the late Elinor Ostrom—has ever won the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Admittedly the Economics Prize was only established in 1968, and Ostrom had won numerous top…

Register today to continue reading

You’ve hit your limit of three articles in the last 30 days. To get seven more, simply enter your email address below.

You’ll also receive our free e-book Prospect’s Top Thinkers 2020 and our newsletter with the best new writing on politics, economics, literature and the arts.

Prospect may process your personal information for our legitimate business purposes, to provide you with newsletters, subscription offers and other relevant information.

Click here to learn more about these purposes and how we use your data. You will be able to opt-out of further contact on the next page and in all our communications.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

We want to hear what you think about this article. Submit a letter to

More From Prospect