Latest Issue

Who will be the next Ukip leader?

The runners and riders to succeed Farage

By Josh Lowe  

© Lewis Stickley/EMPICS Entertainment

The reign of Nigel Farage, who since 2010 has taken Ukip from a little-noticed band of outsiders to an insurgent political force, is over. Yesterday, voters in South Thanet, where Farage was locked in a bitter three-way battle for the seat with the Tory Eurosceptic Craig Mackinlay and the young Labour firebrand Will Scobie, chose not to grant the seat to the Ukip leader. He subsequently…

Register today to continue reading

You’ve hit your limit of three articles in the last 30 days. To get seven more, simply enter your email address below.

You’ll also receive our free e-book Prospect’s Top Thinkers 2020 and our newsletter with the best new writing on politics, economics, literature and the arts.

Prospect may process your personal information for our legitimate business purposes, to provide you with newsletters, subscription offers and other relevant information.

Click here to learn more about these purposes and how we use your data. You will be able to opt-out of further contact on the next page and in all our communications.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

We want to hear what you think about this article. Submit a letter to

More From Prospect