Latest Issue

Tea at the Midland

David Constantine’s “Tea at the Midland” is the winner of the 2010 BBC National Short Story Award

By David Constantine   January 2011

Co-founded by Prospect in 2005 and sponsored by the BBC and Booktrust, the National Short Story Award is worth £15,000 and is among the world’s most prestigious for a short story. The judging panel—broadcaster James Naughtie, novelist and writer Kamila Shamsie, author and poet Owen Sheers, novelist Shena Mackay and BBC editor Di Speirs—shortlisted five leading authors: David Constantine, Aminatta Forna, Sarah Hall, Helen Oyeyemi and Jon McGregor, who won the £3,000 runner-up prize. All their stories are published by Comma Press in The BBC National Short Story Award Anthology 2010.

The wind blew steadily hard with frequent surges of…

Register today to continue reading

You’ve hit your limit of three articles in the last 30 days. To get seven more, simply enter your email address below.

You’ll also receive our free e-book Prospect’s Top Thinkers 2020 and our newsletter with the best new writing on politics, economics, literature and the arts.

Prospect may process your personal information for our legitimate business purposes, to provide you with newsletters, subscription offers and other relevant information.

Click here to learn more about these purposes and how we use your data. You will be able to opt-out of further contact on the next page and in all our communications.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

We want to hear what you think about this article. Submit a letter to

More From Prospect