Follow Prospect:

BBC Radio 4

"The Oscars of the Think Tank World"

Supported by:



What are the Think Tank Awards?

The Prospect Think Tank of the Year Awards were founded in 2001. They are an annual celebration of the important and influential work done by think tanks across the globe. The awards are free to enter and will give credit to the most original, influential and rigorous work on the most pressing challenges facing people, governments and businesses today.

What key dates do I need to know?

• Entries are now being accepted for the 2014 Think Tank Awards
• Entries close on Friday 30th May 2014
• The awards ceremony will take place in London on Wednesday 16th July 2014. 

What are the costs of entering?

The awards are free to enter.

What are the award categories this year?

  • Global Think Tank of the Year Award – open to all think tanks
  • Think Tank of the Year – UK, US and Europe prizes
  • Economic & Financial – UK, US and Europe prizes
  • Social Policy - UK, US and Europe prizes
  • Energy & the Environment - UK, US and Europe prizes
  • International Affairs - UK, US and Europe prizes
  • One to Watch – UK only


How are the awards judged?

The awards are judged by an independent panel chaired by Prospect editor, Bronwen Maddox. The judging panel will be announced soon. The judges will be looking for evidence of influence on public policy and on the public discourse. The judges will also consider the quality of research and the potential of younger and smaller organisations.

The judges will use the following criteria to assess applications:

  • Coherent selection of topics of importance
  • Innovative and plausible policy prescription
  • Rigour of analysis
  • Influence on politics
  • Influence on media, wider impact
  • Convening power


What are the prizes?

Prizes include:

• Presentation of an award at the ceremony
• Coverage of the awards in Prospect magazine and online
• Electronic rosette for placement on your website

How do I enter?

You can request an application form here

How many categories can I enter?

You may enter as many categories as you wish within your region. All entrants will be automatically placed into regional categories and eligible for Global Think Tank of the Year. The think tanks short-listed for each award will be announced a few weeks before the ceremony in July.

Each entry should be no more than 600 words but can include hyperlinks to your site and research.

How do I register to attend the awards ceremony?

The awards ceremony will take place in central London on Wednesday 16th July. Applicants will be sent invitations closer to the date.

Who supports the awards?

Shell has supported the awards for a number of years. Shell recognises the importance of the role of think tanks in delivering influential and high quality research across a range of topics, especially in the area of energy and climate change. The Economic and Financial Affairs category is supported by the Institute of Directors.

IoD logo plain